Time Trialling


Weekly 10 mile Club Time Trials

Starting mid April( 2019 dates TBA) and every Wednesday evening until early September (weather permitting) Wigan Wheelers and St. Helens CRC host a 10 mile time trial on the D10/1 course based on the Rainford Bypass (A570).

Sign on is from 6:00pm in Ormskirk road (WA11 7TA) which is the layby that runs in front of the Holdi restaurant.  First rider starts at 7:01pm except last event in September when first rider starts at 6:46pm.

We do not want to gather in front of the houses and be a nuisance to people who live next to the layby, we are better to keep to the North end of the layby:


The entry fee is £3 for members of Wigan Wheelers and St. Helens CRC and £4.50 for others.

Never done time trialling before? This is a good event to do in a welcoming and supportive environment! Let the organiser know that it is your first time so we can help you.

Also feel free to spectate, the best spot is on the roundabout by Holdi Rainford. 


Open Time Trials

We also organise open time trials throughout the racing season.  If you do not want to ride, perhaps you could help marshall the events, please let Amanda or Nigel know if you can assist.

For the 2019 season the Wigan Wheelers will be running the following events (see facebook event for more info):

  • 28th April - 25mile 2up Team time trial - Garstang - marshalls needed please let Amanda know if you can assist.
  • 17th August - 10 mile time trial - Levens - marshalls needed please let Amanda know if you can assist.
  • 18th August - 30 mile time trial to contest the Littler trophy - Levens - marshalls needed please let Nigel know if you can assist.


Affiliation and further info

We are affilated with British Cycling, CTT (Cycling Time Trials under the North and Manchester Districts) and the Cyclocross Association. 

All open time trials throughout the UK are listed on the CTT website:


Please see our facebook page to see further information as it changes.

Trophies Competed for in the 2018 season



We will soon be allocating trophies to events for the 2019 season, below is a list of all the trophies that were competed for in the 2018 season. All of these are based on a handicap competition so don't be afraid if you've never raced to come and give it a go!

Anyone thinking of riding any of these events please let Nigel Clementson (07862289430) know so he can handicap the event. 

Morris Jones Trophy

 Wigan Wheelers 10 mile on the 28/4 on the new L1022 

Liptrot Dewhurst trophy

 North Shropshire 25 mile on the 26/8 D25/8E 

Fletcher Cup

 VC Cumbria 50 mile on the 4/8 L5012 

Cavey Cup

 Wigan Wheelers on the 24/6 D25/5 

Cutler Cup

 Liverpool century on the 8/9 D10/1


Results for the rainford 10's are shown below, usually a day or so after the event. A photo of the signing on sheet with times

added is usually posted onto our facebook page soon after the event        https://www.facebook.com/wiganwheelerscc/

Files coming soon.

2018 Time Trial Results

The results of the rainford 10's for the 2018 season are shown in the files below.  The last file shows

 the results of the season long point competition for which an annual trophy and medals are awarded.